|Values:||Unsigned integers: All non-negative whole numbers from 0 to either 32767, 2147483647 or 4294967296. (Limited to: 0 to 7)|
This flag determines whether an object can fire on naval units (as opposed to land units) or not. It has several more options to choose from than LandTargeting, and YR expanded it by one more, adding the possible restriction to only use the primary weapon on naval targets.
This flag, along with LandTargeting, was likely introduced because technically, ships are ground-level units as well, and a simple AG=yes
would have does allow Submarines, for example, to fire torpedoes through the water, over the ground, into a tank. This, of course, is not desired. Therefore, the additional target area distinction between "Land" and "Naval" was created. The originally intended AN and AS were probably dismissed because they were not "complex" enough, allowing only a simple "Can fire on submarines? Yes." rather than something like "Can fire on submarines? Yes, but only with it's Secondary.".
|Value||Basic game interpretation||Explanation from rules|
|0||UNDERWATER_NEVER||Can't shoot at all at underwater|
|1||UNDERWATER_SECONDARY||Use Second weapon against underwater|
|2||UNDERWATER_ONLY||Can only shoot underwater|
|3||ORGANIC_SECONDARY||Use second Weapon on organic|
|4||SEAL_SPECIAL||Primary on Amphibious and organic, Second on Naval and underwater-not-organic|
|5||NAVAL_ALL||Go ahead and shoot everything with Primary¹|
|6||NAVAL_NONE||Don't even shoot into the water|
|7||NAVAL_PRIMARY||Able to shoot ground target with secondary weapon, but Naval is the primary target²|
¹ Note: According to The Guide, this actually only means that everything with Naval=yes set will be attacked with the primary weapon. That leaves the secondary undocumented. It could mean a boomer, was it set NavalTargeting=5, would shoot torpedos on ships, but fire Cruise Missiles to kill Robot Tanks, Amphibious Transporters and Tanyas in the water. This, however, is pure speculation by this revision's author.
² Also note that DeeZire mentioned a NavalTargeting=7 unit could get confused if ordered to attack amphibious units.
This section is just ment to show that Naval- & LandTargeting aren't mutually exclusive, and can confuse the hell out of you as well as the game. Apart from the usual checks, you should watch them double closely if you're doing any extended Primary/Secondary magic.